Our reviews

What our clients say


Scroll to see more
arrow Created with Sketch.

Latest reviews

We have been fortunate enough over the years to host many travellers from across the globe and those travellers have become our friends along the way. Read what they said below.

Antonio, Sp

Reviews Antonio Sp 2
18/04/2017
BOTS004

Botswana explorer safari

Great holidays thanks to Ker & Downey Africa

We have travelled to Botswana with Ker & Downey Africa and everything was perfect. Ker & Downey Africa knows how to make you and your family feel special from the very beginning to the day after your trip has ended. We followed their recommendations on everything and it was our smartest decision. I strongly recommend everyone planning a safari in Africa to contact Ker & Downey Africa.

Christine, Aus

25/04/2017
MC004

Chobe River + Okavango Delta luxury safari

An amazing experience thanks to Ker & Downey Africa

Britta, It

19/03/2017
TAN002

Tanzania + Zanzibar bush and beach experience

An unforgettable trip to Tanzania thanks to Ker & Downey Africa

Although being used to organising our travels on our own, for this trip to Tanzania we decided to engage Ker & Downey Africa as we wanted everything to be perfect. From the beginning we felt in excellent hands with Rory. He worked everything together making us quickly an exciting proposal fit in with our budget. Until the moment we actually started the trip, he answered always immediately and had an immense patience with all our tiny questions. The team of Ker & Downey Africa managed to not only fulfil our very high expectations but even exceeded them. We had a fantastic experience, wonderful in every way: all the camps, their staff, the food, the car and its equipment, the parks, the nature, the animals, even the weather with only some short refreshing rains, really everything was perfect. Ker & Downey Africa organised everything with no problem, booking some wonderful accommodations and allowing us to fully enjoy our trip. Our guide David understood immediately our desire to be away from the crowds and with his kindness and calm, his great respect for nature and its wildlife, he made our journey an unique and amazing experience. He made it possible that most of the time we really were on our own, having the feeling that we were in Paradise on Earth with only animals around us. His enormous knowledge about all kind of animals and their habitat has enriched the experience even more. We thank all those involved for setting up such an awesome trip and recommend Ker & Downey Africa without any doubt!

Walter, Denmark

22/02/2017
SA001

Luxury Cape Town + Kruger Experience

Ker & Downey Africa made a wonderful job

Ker & Downey Africa prepared a wonderful trip to the Ulusaba Lodge with all bookings. They took care of us from arrival at Johannesburg Airport with the transfer to the regional airline to the lodge, gave a lot of useful information and also prepared a tour along the Garden Route according to our personal requirements. We always felt well taken care of. It is good to know to have the assistance of Ker & Downey Africa in the background.

Henry Priestley, UK

10/07/2014
SA001

Luxury Cape Town + Kruger Experience

Fantastic trip to South Africa

Bryce, USA

Bryce Usa
12/02/2017
SA001

Luxury Cape Town + Kruger Experience

Ker & Downey Africa took care of everything!

Ker & Downey Africa helped make my wife and I's trip to South Africa our best vacation ever. From arranging first-class accommodations, to making reservations at fabulous restaurants, to arranging interesting side trips, to whisking us through passport control and customs, they had everything covered. And, of course, the safari itself was beyond all expectations. If you are looking for someone to arrange your safari, look no further!

Chris, USA

Chris Usa
02/02/2017
RWA001

Rwanda Gorilla Trekking

Fantastic Service! Extremely helpful. 100% Recommended to all!

This was our first tour booked solely via a tour operator so we were a little sceptical to say the least. Ker & Downey Africa completely surpassed all our expectations and after our holiday we understand we couldn't have done it alone. The attention to detail was second to none, every minor detail was thought of so we didn't have to worry about a thing! The service leading up to our Safari was unlike any I have dealt with before. Rory (our representative) was helpful, understanding and answered all our questions to the very last detail (we had a lot of questions!). Rory took on our feedback and designed a custom tour that was perfect for us and within the budget we wanted. Even when we requested changes to the itinerary after confirming, there were no issues. The communication was impeccable - always responding within a few hours (if not minutes!). During the tour the team were also on hand to help us with any questions or problems we had along the way and quickly sorted out everything. We were not quite happy with the standard of one of our rooms in Rwanda and after contacting Ker & Downey Africa they quickly upgraded us without any hassle or additional charge. Overall our Safari and Gorilla Experience in Rwanda was Amazing - A once in a lifetime experience. The service, the people, the food was unlike anything else. I cannot thank Rory, Barbara and the team more for their help in bringing our trip to a reality.

Phil Tague, USA

23/11/2016
SA001

Luxury Cape Town + Kruger Experience

The best organized trip that my well-traveled family has ever experienced.

Lucky, Ca

17/10/2016
KEN001

Sub Saharan Kenya Experience

A Very Special Trip!

We chose Ker & Downey Africa after extensive research on safari tour companies and they did not disappoint. From the initial contact to planning our trip and throughout our entire journey, they were fantastic. We were taken care of from the moment we stepped off the plane in Nairobi. Every detail was organized perfectly for our safari at Ol Donyo Lodge in the Chyulu Hills and at Angama Mara Lodge in the Mara Plains. Both lodges were exquisite – the staff, the rooms, the food, the setting - unbelievable! And of course, the game viewing. Not only were we fortunate to see the Big Five but we also witnessed the migration, truly magnificent! And we can’t say enough about the Masai people – words cannot capture their beauty and kindness. The highlight of our special trip was an Exchange of Vows Ceremony in celebration of our 25th wedding anniversary. To be surrounded by Masai warriors and maidens and receive blessings from the elders will forever remain in our hearts. Thank you to Angama Mara for hosting such an unforgettable event. What better way to finish off our celebration than to spend a few relaxing days in the Seychelles. Thank you to Ker & Downey Africa for organizing such a wonderful trip. We look forward to having you plan our next one – we can’t wait to be back in Africa!

Alet, RSA

14/10/2016
SA005

Cape Town + Sanbona bush and beach experience

Ker & Downey Africa exceeded our expectations by sending us to the best camps and lodges in SA.

Ker & Downey Africa organised a stunning trip for my family in South Africa. The lodges and camps we visited were on point with our needs. We were treated like royalty on arrival and throughout out stay. The staff were geniune, friendly and attentive without being intrusive. Dinner was intimate and the food was excellent. Attention to detail was noticable at all times. I especially loved the handwritten notes at bedtime and the sweet treat. Once again, the attention to detail, the excellent food and service at dinner were admirable. The game drives were unforgettable - we were provided hot water bottles, ponchos and blankets for the early morning drives. To be so close to the majestic elephants, magnificent lions, herds of buffaloes, zebras, warthogs and other species was an impeccable experience. The roar of lions at night added a very rare and special dimension to this luxurious experience in the wild. Thank you Ker & Downey Africa for choosing this amazing itinerary for us, for the excellent communication and faultless organising. I will happily recommend anyone looking for an experience of a lifetime to make use of your expertise.

Rosie, UK

17/08/2016
SA001

Luxury Cape Town + Kruger Experience

Amazing South Africa experience with Ker & Downey Africa

Laura, USA

Laura Usa
12/10/2016
KEN001

Sub Saharan Kenya Experience

Ker & Downey Africa provided a spectacular trip of a lifetime for us

I have never written a review before but after our recent trip to Africa (Kenya, Tanzania & South Africa), planned for us by Ker & Downey Africa, I felt compelled to write one. Ker & Downey Africa was incredibly responsive and really listened to what we wanted to see and how much we wanted to spend and planned an amazing trip designed just for us. From the minute we arrived at the airport in Nairobi and were personally escorted through immigration and then handed off to our driver everything was perfectly organized and first class. Each lodge was stunning and unique with beautiful settings, rooms, food and incredibly attentive staff. The game viewing was beyond our wildest dreams and the guides were extremely knowledgeable, kind and fun. Everyone went above and beyond to ensure that our every possible need was met. We had a beautiful room on the water in Cape Town for four nights to end our African adventure. I would highly recommend Ker & Downey Africa if you are planning a trip to Africa! Thanks for the trip of a lifetime that we will never forget.

Frank, Netherlands

Frank Netherlands
17/08/2016
SA005

Cape Town + Sanbona bush and beach experience

A wonderful time in South Africa; already planning the next trip!

We had an amazing two weeks in South Africa and we wanted to see as much as possible in the time. Ker & Downey Africa provided an amazing schedule that allowed us to spend time in both Joburg and Cape Town as well as a 3 day safari some time in the winelands before venturing further along the Garden Route. I found the team at Ker & Downey Africa very responsive and they took complete care of the schedule and found them very responsive when we wanted to add in activities at the last minute. Would definitely recommend and can't wait to explore more of Africa with them!

Oliver, UK

16/08/2016
BOTS002

Chobe River, Okavango Delta Luxury Safari

Excellent accommodation recommendations and superlative customer service

Lisa, USA

26/07/2016
RWA001

Rwanda Gorilla Trekking

Ker & Downey Africa planned our perfect family trip to Tanzania and Rwanda

I contacted Ker & Downey Africa blindly and was blown away by the responsiveness, service level, and incredible recommendations that they provided. Never did more than a few hours go by without a reply from them. I gave her a brief outline of what I wanted to do and where I wanted to visit, and they gave me a few great options from which to choose. They gave me their opinion on each, pricing, expectations, and details descriptions. When I showed any concern, they explained further why they thought I would enjoy the excursion or she gave me other options. They never hesitated to give references of other families who had used her and / or the company before. It was their glowing recommendations and her level of service that gave me the confidence I needed to sign on. The trip exceeded our expectations! We spent 8 days in Tanzania and 3 days in Rwanda, and we stayed at the most incredible lodges and camps. Favorites were Tarangire Tree Tops and Serengeti Migration Camp. They also arranged private tours for us. Our guides were knowledgeable, respectful, committed, and went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed every minute. The food everywhere was delicious. The descriptions of our itinerary did not do justice to the experience. We went in a hot air balloon over the Serengeti and went trekking in the forest to find a family of 24 gorillas that we observed and spent time with in Rwanda. Everything was perfect, and this trip has been our best family vacation yet! I recommend Ker & Downey Africa without any reservations.

David, USA

21/06/2016
SA001

Luxury Cape Town + Kruger Experience

Great Lodges & Awesome Service

Great lodges and awesome reserves. We had a fantastic time - the service from Ker & Downey Africa was great

Simone, Sp

03/05/2016
SA005

Cape Town + Sanbona bush and beach experience

Flawless service from start to finish

Diane, Aus

Diane Aus
09/05/2016
NAM003

Etosha National Park Classic Safari

All handled very efficiently and smoothly

We have never put ourselves in the hands of travel organisers and were a little nervous. We needn't be. The accommodations were wonderful, the transfers were all professional and the safari lived up to expectations.

Bonnie, USA

Bonnie Usa
29/03/2016
TAN002

Tanzania + Zanzibar bush and beach experience

My mother and I had a trip to Tanzania more wonderful than we could have ever imagined.

The trip was wonderful! Everything went extremely smoothly. The service was extraordinary The safari was amazing. I look forward to going again

Moki, USA

28/03/2016
SA001

Luxury Cape Town + Kruger Experience

Excellent tour planned by Ker & Downey Africa

Deborah, USA

23/03/2016
KEN001

Sub Saharn Kenya Experience

A Magical Mystery Tour Through Kenya & Tanzania

Our safari to Kenya and Tanzania was beyond our expectations. By "magical" I mean that we often couldn't believe what we were seeing and feeling. We saw The Big Five, including a black rhino. We were 3 feet away from a cheetah, the most beautiful cat I have ever seen. The terrain, the light, the silence, the night sky, gave us an otherworldly sense. Accommodations were perfect. The tented camps were comfortable, attractive and like something from a movie. The meals were exceptional as was the service. The Masai "guards" who escorted us through the camps were delightful. We had fine butlers, servers and guides everywhere. These people spoke (or tried to speak) English, catered to our every need, and were very knowledgeable about the area and its history. The itinerary developed by Ker & Downey Africa was manageable and exciting. We did not feel like we missed anything. We even fed giraffes from the windows of our first-night's lodging in Nairobi. Of great importance was our feeling of safety and security. Ker & Downey Africa and its agents made sure we got where we needed to go and took care of all the details. We would also book our trip through Ker & Downey Africa without hesitation.

Mary, UK

23/03/2016
SA001

Luxury Cape Town + Kruger Experience

Excellent Service to Help Us Plan the Trip of a Lifetime

Lee was incredible to work with and provided top of the line service. My husband and I planned to do a safari and then head to Mauritius over the Christmas holiday and were overwhelmed for choice. KDA sent through a beautiful presentation with lots of options and price points and Lee set up a conference call with us in the UK to help us identify the best place for us. They provided very organised information and payment reminders ahead of our trip and sent us a thorough pack with all the detail we needed to get around easily. We headed for Kapama which 5 star plus some. Outstanding service, incredible food, luxurious but rustic surroundings all at the same time - I couldn't rave about the place more. I hope we can come back someday and I would absolutely be in touch with Ker & Downey Africa to help us coordinate. Thanks to the team for planning a trip of a lifetime for us!

Ido, Israel

16/11/2015
SA005

Cape Town + Sanbona Bush and Beach Experience

Absolutely Perfect Experience

Britt, Sweden

Britt Sweden
17/03/2016
MC002

Across Africa Safari

Good communication and excellent service and choices of hotels and tours.

Very good communication and service. By all means living up to expectations! The safari was magic!!

Brendan

Brendan
11/03/2015
KEN001

Sub Saharan Kenya Experience

Wonderful, Friendly Service & Very Knowledgeable Team

We were referred to Ker & Downey Africa by a friend, and we were so lucky to be able to work with them! We had no idea how to begin planning our safari, and the team there worked with us to develop the perfect trip. Based upon what we told them we wanted, the staff recommended several places, and we chose a trip to Kenya -- what an amazing decision that was. They listened to what we wanted and our budget and were able to offer us several options for safari. I could go on and on about the trip, but I have to say that Key & Downey's service was excellent the entire time! Perfect example: there was bad weather in New York as we were getting ready to leave. Ker & Downey Africa sent us a note that they were aware of the weather and that they would take care of any connecting flight issues when we arrived in Africa. That's the best part of working with them: they think of everything! I highly recommend that you work with them. They will help you plan the most perfect vacation!

Bethan, UK

11/04/2015
BOTS005

Botswana Explorer Safari

Fit for a queen!

Katie S, UK

03/11/2015
BOTS001

Okavango Delta Chobe National Park Safari

My husband and I went to Botswana on our honeymoon just over a year ago. It was absolutely incredible and Terri-Ann was so helpful every step of the way, we didn't have to worry about anything and really did have the trip of a lifetime. We couldn't recommend Ker & Downey Africa enough and are already trying to think of an excuse for our next trip to Africa!

William, USA

11/03/2015
SA001

Luxury Cape Town + Kruger Experience

Unbelievable Experience with Ker & Downey Africa

We used Ker & Downey Africa as our agent to plan our honeymoon in Africa based on the recommendation of a number of friends and they did not disappoint! They planned an itinerary exactly to our liking that had us in Cape Town, Sabi Sand Game Reserve and the balance being coastal relaxation in Mauritius. Our travel coordinator planned every aspect of the trip, all the way down to dinner recommendations/reservations and all our transfers so that we able to enjoy the trip to it's fullest without being concerned with minor details. We had the trip of a lifetime and I can honestly say it would not have been possible without the expert team at Ker & Downey Africa.

Bonnie, USA

Bonnie Usa 2
11/03/2015
SA005

Cape Town + Sanbona Bush and Beach Experience

Dream vacation!

They said this is the trip of a lifetime...and thanks to the group at Ker & Downey Africa it was...! Went to celebrate a 60th birthday and they designed the trip just for us...! Saw all the Big Five along with many others including a white rhino... did a shark dive in Gaansai Bay...and topped it all off with a wine and champagne tasting tour in the spectacular Franshook Valley....along with some memorable moments in Capetown...all thanks to Ker & Downey Africa...and we especially liked the fact that they are there in Capetown...my son and his wife spent their honeymoon last September on a trip unique to what they wanted to do designed and executed by Ker & Downey Africa as a result of our successful experience...! You'll be rewarded with a sense of comfort and satisfaction if you work with this company. They exceeded our expectations in communications, customer service and making this a trip of a lifetime!